A few of the fundamental tenets upon which our Holy Orthodox Church functions are as follows:

Holy Scripture and Holy Tradition

Holy Scripture comprises the writings of both the New and the Old Testaments. The New Testament reveals the human and divine nature of Jesus Christ, and His sacred teachings that we are charged to follow. The Old Testament is a history of the Hebrew people. It contains, among other sacred writings, the prophecies and the writings of the Prophets that foretold the coming of the Messiah. It therefore serves as an introduction to the revelation and the saving message of the New Testament.

Holy Tradition, of which Holy Scripture is a part, includes the writings, teachings, and acts of the apostles, saints, martyrs, and fathers of the Church, and her liturgical and sacramental traditions throughout the ages, the oral tradition of the early Church, and the decisions of the Ecumenical Councils. All of this collective wisdom and experience through the centuries are combined to form this second great source of sacred authority.

The Creed

The Creed contains the Church’s basic summary of doctrinal truths to which we adhere as Orthodox Christians. It consists of the twelve articles of the Nicene-Constantinopolitan Creed, or the “Pistevo,” which is recited at each Divine Liturgy.

The Sacraments

The Sacraments are seven in number. They are the visible means by which the invisible Grace of the Holy Spirit is imparted to us. Four Sacraments are obligatory:

  1. The Holy Eucharist,
  2. Baptism,
  3. Chrismation (anointment with holy oil),
  4. Confession,
  5. Matrimony
  6. Holy Orders and
  7. Unction (anointment of the sick)

The Church Calendar

The Church Calendar begins on September 1st and ends on August 31st. Each day is sacred for the Orthodox Christian. The Church venerates at least one saint or sacred event in the life of the Church every day of the year. There are, however, several major feast days observed annually, and of these, Easter, or Pascha, is the most important.

The Divine Liturgy

The central worship service of the Church is the Divine Liturgy, which is celebrated each Sunday morning and on all holy days. The Liturgy is also the means by which we achieve union with Jesus Christ and unity with each other through the Sacrament of Holy Communion.

The Major Feast Days

September 8 - Nativity of the Theotokos

September 14 - Exaltation of the Holy Cross

November 21- Presentation of the Theotokos in the Temple

December 25 - Christmas (Nativity of Jesus Christ)

January 6 - Epiphany (Baptism of Christ)

February 2 - Presentation of Christ in the Temple

March 25 - Annunciation (Evangelismos)

Varies from year to year:

  • Easter (Pasha)

  • 40 Days after Easter

  • Ascension

  • 50 Days after Easter

  • Pentecost

August 6 - Transfiguration of Christ

August 15 - Dormition of the Theotokos (Kimissis)